Virginia DUI / DWI & Traffic Defense Attorney Serving Newport News, Hampton, York County, Poquoson, Williamsburg, James City County and New Kent County
Virginia’s traffic laws are among the strictest in the nation. Whether you are facing charges for DWI, DUI, reckless driving or driving on a suspended license, the lawyers of Miller, Walsh, Kutz & Laster, PLLC can help.
If you are facing serious traffic charges, it is important to retain an experienced traffic defense lawyer who can defend you against serious allegations and explain all of your legal options.
Call the law firm of Miller, Walsh, Kutz & Laster at 757-595-0123. You may also contact our practice online, and someone will be in touch with you soon. Our traffic defense lawyers will extensively prepare for your case, doing everything necessary before going to trial.
Our traffice defense lawyers have significant experience handling:
- Virginia Traffic or Speeding Ticket Defense
- Reckless Driving in Virginia
- Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License
- Drunk Driving (DUI, DWI)
If you are charged with a DUI, DWI, reckless driving, or driving on a revoked or suspended license, you may face up to one year in jail, $2,500 in fines, and loss of your driver’s license.
In addition to these punishments, such charges could impact one’s career, security clearance and insurance costs.
You need an experienced Virginia defense lawyer. Call Miller, Walsh, Kutz & Laster at 757-595-0123.
THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN MISDEMEANORS AND FELONIES
Felony and misdemeanor crimes are distinguished under Virginia law by the maximum punishment one can receive for each. Felonies are crimes punishable by imprisonment for more than 12 months or even by death. Misdemeanors are crimes punishable by no more than 12 months in jail. Jail sentences for misdemeanors are served at local facilities (county or regional jails), while incarceration for felonies usually occurs in state correctional facilities (prison).
Misdemeanors are divided into four classes, with maximum punishments as follows:
Class 1 Misdemeanor: 12 months in jail; $2,500 fine
Class 2 Misdemeanor: 6 months in jail; $1,000 fine
Class 3 Misdemeanor: $500 fine
Class 4 Misdemeanor: $250 fine
Felonies are divided into six classes, with maximum punishments as follows:
Class 1 Felony: Death, if older than 16 at time of offense and not mentally retarded; or life imprisonment and/or $100,000 fine
Class 2 Felony: 20 years to life imprisonment and/or $100,000 fine
Class 3 Felony: 5 – 20 years imprisonment and/or $100,000 fine
Class 4 Felony: 2 – 10 years imprisonment and/or $100,000 fine
Class 5 Felony: 1 – 10 years imprisonment or 12 months in jail and/or $2,500 fine
Class 6 Felony: 1 – 5 years imprisonment or 12 months in jail and/or $2,500 fine
Certain crimes, such as grand larceny, are called “unclassified felonies,” because the punishment for conviction of these crimes is defined by the specific Virginia statute criminalizing the offense, different from the general guidelines described above.
If you are facing heavy fines, probation and even jail or prison time, it’s easy to see how traffic charges can affect everything about your life. The stakes are too high for you not to be represented by the experienced and knowledgeable Virginia traffic defense attorneys of Miller, Walsh, Kutz & Laster. Let us help you put this stressful time behind you. If you are facing criminal traffic charges, call the law firm of Miller, Walsh, Kutz & Laster now at 757-595-0123.